Profile of the College Fall 2018

Founded in 1924 as LaSalle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College; renamed Illinois Valley Community College in 1966.

*Enrollment 2,958 Unduplicated Credit Headcount

1,718 FTE (Full Time Equivalent - 15 credit/student)

*Average Age of Student 23.0 (58% less than 21 years old)
*Male Students 42 percent
*Female Students 58 percent
*Full-time 37 percent
*Part-time 63 percent
*Working While Attending School 30 percent
Cost: Fall 2018
Tuition:  $125.60/credit hour, standard fee $7.40/credit hour, and a one-time $5.00 registration fee
Full-time Faculty 72 (as of January 2018)
Adjunct Faculty 171 (as of  January 2018)
Total Employees 394 (excluding part-time student workers, as of January 2018)
District Size 2000+ square miles,
Est. 2016 population=149,607;
8 counties; 22 high schools

The district encompasses Putnam county as well as the majority of La Salle and  Bureau counties, and small parts of Lee, DeKalb, Grundy, Livingston, and Marshall counties.

Campus Size 425 acres
Founded 1924 (1972 permanent campus)
Accredited by The Higher Learning Commission
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
Commission on Dental Accreditation
Committee on Accreditation of Education Programs for the Emergency Medical Services Profession (CoAEMSP)
National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF)
Approved by The Illinois Community College Board
Member The American Association of Community Colleges
The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools
Network of Illinois Learning Resources in Community Colleges
Illinois Virtual Campus
Illinois Online Network
Illinois Chamber of Commerce
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
American Welding Society (AWS)
*Based upon Fall 2018 10th Day data


District 513 High Schools

There are 20 high schools in IVCC's district:

  • DePue
  • Earlville
  • Hall
  • La Moille
  • LaSalle-Peru
  • Marquette
  • Mendota
  • Ottawa
  • Princeton
  • Putnam County
  • St. Bede Academy
  • Serena
  • Streator
  • Woodland
  • LaSalle Peru Christian

High schools partially in IVCC's district are:

  • Bureau Valley
  • Fieldcrest
  • Henry-Senachwine
  • Midland
  • Seneca



Aside from its 425-acre Oglesby campus and Ottawa Center, IVCC offers night classes at high schools in:

  • Princeton
  • La Salle
  • Ottawa
  • Streator
  • and other locations.



IVCC's comprehensive offerings include the following baccalaureate transfer degrees:  Associate in Arts (A.A.) Associate in Science (A.S.), and an Associate in Engineering Science (A.E.S.).  An Associate in General Studies (A.G.S.) is also available.

IVCC has 20 Career Programs (Associate in Applied Science degrees) designed for employment after two years.  A total of 47 certificate programs enable students to gain employment in two years or less.


Historical Profiles

Profile Archive