2015 Stephen Charry Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence Nomination

Welcome to IVCC's 2015 Stephen Charry Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence webpage.  The purpose of this program is to recognize instructors and counselors for outstanding service in teaching, leadership, professional development and contributions to the College and community.

We are pleased to announce the 2015 finalists!

The Award recipients from three previous years have reviewed and evaluated all nominations.  They have recommended seven candidates as finalists. The final step in the selection process is for the full-time faculty and counselors to review and score the nominations.

Those eligible to evaluate and score the nominations will receive an email from IVCC Human Resources with a link to the appropriate web form.  Scores are due by 2 p.m. on Thursday, February 5, 2015.  (Nominations can be read by clicking on each name below.)


2015 Nominees:

Steve Alvin
Sue Caley Opsal
Dr. Rebecca Donna
Keith King
Betsy Klopcic
Steve Nett
Adam Oldaker
Kim Radek


Award History: 

The namesake for this award, Dr. Stephen Charry, was a respected history professor at IVCC from 1999 until his untimely death in 2008.  Loved by faculty, staff, and students alike, Steve went beyond his role as a faculty member.   He served multiple terms as the faculty union president, participated on and led numerous committees, and was very involved in the community.  He was a devoted father, husband, and friend.  Steve was a life-long learner and a great role model to his students and his peers.  His dedication to students and his passion for teaching will live on in the many lives he touched while he was at IVCC.  He is fondly remembered by his family, friends, and colleagues as a scholar and a true gentleman.  Steve’s legacy at IVCC may have been short-lived, but his devotion to faculty excellence will live on through the Stephen Charry Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence.

List of Previous Award Recipients