Profile of the College Spring 2013

Founded in 1924 as LaSalle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College; renamed Illinois Valley Community College in 1966.

*Based upon Spring 2013 10th Day data
*Enrollment 3858 Unduplicated Credit Headcount

2249 FTE (Full Time Equivalent - 15 credit/student)

*Average Age of Student 25.27 (51% less than 21 years old)
*Male Students 40 percent
*Female Students 60 percent
*Full-time 39 percent
*Part-time 61 percent
*Working While Attending School 53 percent
Cost: Fall 2012
Tuition:  $84.38/credit hour, standard fee $7.39/credit hour, and a one-time $5.00 registration fee
Full-time Faculty 83 (as of January 2013)
Adjunct Faculty 163 (as of  January 2013)
Total Employees 422 (excluding part-time student workers, as of January 2013)
District Size 2000+ square miles,
Est. 2010 population=150,222;
8 counties; 22 high-schools

The district encompasses Putnam county as well as the majority of La Salle and  Bureau counties and small parts of Lee, DeKalb, Grundy, Livingston and Marshall counties.

Campus Size 425 acres
Founded 1924 (1972 permanent campus)
Accredited by The Higher Learning Commission
National league for Nursing Accreditation Commission (NLNAC)
Commission on Dental Accreditation
National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF)
Approved by The Illinois Community College Board
Member The American Association of Community Colleges
The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools
HLC's Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP)
Network of Illinois Learning Resources in Community Colleges
Illinois Community Colleges Online
Illinois Virtual Campus
Illinois Online Network


District 513 High Schools

There are 22 high schools in IVCC's district:

  • DePue
  • Earlville
  • Hall
  • La Moille
  • LaSalle-Peru
  • Marquette
  • Mendota
  • Ottawa
  • Princeton
  • Putnam County
  • St. Bede Academy
  • Serena
  • Streator
  • Woodland
  • Rhema Christian Academy
  • LaSalle Peru Christian
  • Crossroads

High schools partially in IVCC's district are:

  • Bureau Valley
  • Fieldcrest
  • Henry-Senachwine
  • Midland
  • Seneca



Aside from its 425-acre Oglesby campus and Ottawa Center, IVCC offers night classes at high schools in:

  • Princeton
  • La Salle
  • Ottawa
  • Streator
  • and other locations.



IVCC's comprehensive offerings include the following baccalaureate transfer degrees:  Associate in Arts (A.A.) Associate in Science (A.S.), Associate in Engineering Science (A.E.S.), and an Associates in Arts in Teaching in Early Childhood Education (A.A.T.).  An Associate in General Studies (A.G.S.) is also available.

IVCC has 23 Career Programs (Associate in Applied Science degrees) designed for employment after two years.  A total of 52 certificate programs enable students to gain employment in two years or less.


Historical Profiles

Profile Archive