Profile of the College Spring 2008

Founded in 1924 as LaSalle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College; renamed Illinois Valley Community College in 1966.

*Based upon Spring 2008 10th Day data


*Based upon Spring 2008 10th Day data
*Enrollment 4072 Unduplicated Credit Headcount

2335 FTE (Full Time Equivalent)

*Average Age of Student 26.18 (46% less than 21)
*Male Students 43 percent
*Female Students 57 percent
*Full-time 42 percent
*Part-time 58 percent
*Working While Attending      School 61 percent
*Time of Attendance

90 percent
10 percent
Cost:  Spring 2008 Tuition:  $65.75/credit hour and a one-time $5.00 registration fee
Full-time Faculty 91 (as of September 2007)
Adjunct Faculty 152 (as of September 2007)
Total Employees 525 (includes 78 part-time student employees, as of September 2007)
District Size 2000+ square miles,
Est. 2007 population=147,244;
8 counties; 21 high-schools

The district encompasses Putnam county as well as the majority of La Salle and  Bureau counties and small parts of Lee, DeKalb, Grundy, Livingston and Marshall counties.

Campus Size 425 acres
Founded 1924 (1972 permanent campus)
Accredited by The Higher Learning Commission

National league for Nursing Accreditation Commission (NLNAC)

Commission on Dental Accreditation

National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF)

Approved by The Illinois Community College Board
Member The American Association of Community Colleges

Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP)

Council of North Central Two Year Colleges

Council for Higher Education Accreditation

Instructional Technology Council

American Library Association

Illinois Community Colleges Online

Illinois Virtual Campus

Illinois Online Network


District 513 High Schools

There are 21 high schools in IVCC's district:

  • DePue
  • Earlville
  • Hall
  • La Moille
  • LaSalle-Peru
  • Marquette
  • Mendota
  • Ottawa
  • Princeton
  • Putnam County
  • St. Bede Academy
  • Serena
  • Streator
  • Woodland
  • Rhema Christian Academy
  • LaSalle Peru Christian

High schools partially in IVCC's district are:

  • Bureau Valley
  • Fieldcrest
  • Henry-Senachwine
  • Midland
  • Seneca



Aside from its 425-acre Oglesby campus, IVCC conducts day classes at:

Ottawa Center
Marquette High School
1000 Paul Street.

In addition, IVCC offers night classes at high schools in:

  • Princeton
  • La Salle
  • Ottawa
  • Streator
  • Mendota
  • and other locations.



IVCC's comprehensive offerings include the following baccalaureate transfer degrees:  Associate in arts (A.A.) Associate in Science (A.S.), and Associate in Engineering Science (A.E.S.).  An Associate in General Studies (A.G.S.) is also available.

IVCC has 24 Career Programs (Associate in Applied Science degrees) designed for employment after two years.  A total of 43 certificate programs enable students to gain employment in two years or less.

Historical Profiles

Profile Archive