August 3, 2009 Minutes of Special Meeting

The Board of Trustees of Illinois Valley Community College District No. 513 convened a special session at 8 a.m. on Monday, August 3, 2009 in the Board Room (C307) at Illinois Valley Community College.

Members Physically Present:
Dennis N. Thompson, Board Chair
David O. Mallery, Secretary
Michael C. Driscoll
Leslie Englehaupt


Members Absent:
Thomas C. Setchell, Vice Chair
Melissa M. Olivero
Cheyanne Smith, Student Trustee


Others Physically Present:
Jerry Corcoran, President
Cheryl Roelfsema, Vice President for Business Services and Finance
Rick Pearce, Vice President for Learning and Student Development       
Lori Scroggs, Vice President for Planning and Institutional Effectiveness



It was moved by Ms. Englehaupt and seconded by Dr. Driscoll to approve the appointment of Dr. Larry Huffman to the Board of Trustees to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Mrs. Paula Endress.  Motion passed by voice vote.  Dr. Driscoll noted that the board is very fortunate to have Dr. Huffman with his knowledge and commitment to the college.  Mr. Thompson noted the board selected Dr. Huffman from a pool of applicants that were received when there was an open position on the board in March.  Dr. Driscoll was selected to fill that position.



It was moved by Ms. Englehaupt, seconded by Dr. Driscoll, and carried unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 8:05 a.m.