April 10, 2009 Minutes of Board Selection Committee Meeting

The Board of Trustees of Illinois Valley Community College District No. 513 Selection Committee to fill a vacancy on the Board met at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, April 10, 2009 in the Board Room (C307) at Illinois Valley Community College.

Committee Members Physically Present:
Paula J. Endress
David O. Mallery
Thomas C. Setchell
Dennis N. Thompson
David L. Wilcoxson              

Committee Members Absent:         

Others Physically Present:
Jerry Corcoran, President
Deborah L. Sweeden, Board Member
Cassie Fuller, Student Trustee
Sue Caley-Opsal, Faculty Member
Rebecca Donna, Faculty Member

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Mr. Wilcoxson.

Mrs. Sweeden asked to be a member of the selection committee since she has chosen not to submit her application for the vacant board seat.  Mr. Wilcoxson would like to hold the membership of the committee at five to keep the quorum at three.  He stated his intentions are not to exclude anyone, but to ensure a quorum to keep the process moving.  He also noted the committee work is only advisory and the entire Board makes the ultimate decision.  He invited Mrs. Sweeden to participate and also invited Ms. Opsal and Ms. Donna to stay for the closed session.



It was moved by Mrs. Endress and seconded by Mr. Thompson to appoint Mr. David Mallery as chairman of the selection committee.  Motion passed by voice vote.



It was moved by Mr. Mallery and seconded by Mr. Thompson to appoint Mrs. Jeanne Hayden as secretary of the selection committee.  Motion passed by voice vote.



It was moved by Mr. Setchell and seconded by Mrs. Endress to convene a closed session at 5:40 p.m. to discuss the selection of a person to fill a vacancy in a public office. 

Student Advisory Vote:  “Aye” – Ms. Fuller.  Roll Call Vote: “Ayes” – Mr. Thompson, Mrs. Endress, Mr. Mallery, Mr. Setchell, Mrs. Sweeden, and Mr. Wilcoxson.  “Nays” – None, motion carried.

On a motion by Mr. Setchell, seconded by Mr. Thompson and carried unanimously, the committee meeting resumed at 7:12 p.m.



It was moved by Mr. Mallery and seconded by Mrs. Endress to recess the meeting at 7:12 p.m. and reconvene on Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 5:30 p.m.